Five bowlers chase farewell win for Hussey

As they seek one more chance for Michael Hussey to roar the team victory song, Australia will field four fast bowlers in a Sydney Test match for the first time in 58 years. They were moved to lengthen their bowling attack by Mitchell Johnson’s superlative form, a tinge of green on the SCG surface, and Melbourne’s firm evidence of Sri Lankan batting weakness against pace and bounce.

Having made an unbeaten 92 at the MCG, Johnson will now find himself batting as high as No. 7, also meaning notable promotions for Matthew Wade to No. 6 and the captain Michael Clarke to No. 4. The composition of the XI appears to have been governed as much by Sri Lankan weakness as the strength of Australia’s bowling options, while Glenn Maxwell and Usman Khawaja will have to wait until India for a chance to audition in the respective roles of spin-bowling allrounder and middle-order batsman. Read more
Courtesy :