Posts filed under “Twenty 20”

England v India: Jason Roy & James Taylor in Twenty20 squad

England have named uncapped Surrey batsman Jason Roy in their 14-man squad for the Twenty20 international against India at Edgbaston on 7 September. Roy, 24, was the leading T20 Blast run-scorer with 677 at an average of 48.35 and a strike rate of almost 160. But he needed an X-ray to show his right thumb […]

Carberry and Bresnan back in England Twenty20 & ODI squads

Batsman Michael Carberry and seamer Tim Bresnan have returned to the England squads for the Twenty20 and one-day series against Sri Lanka. Carberry is back after criticising his omission from the ODI series in Australia last winter, while he was also overlooked for the limited-overs series in the West Indies this year. Bresnan is available […]

No one will be as disappointed as Yuvraj himself – Dhoni

It was to be expected that MS Dhoni would be asked mostly about Yuvraj Singh after India’s defeat in the World T20 final. Yuvraj made 11 off 21 as India never built any momentum in the middle overs to manage a below-par 130 for 4, which Sri Lanka chased down with 2.1 overs and six […]

World Twenty20 2014: Sri Lanka carried me – Kumar Sangakkara

Kumar Sangakkara paid tribute to his team-mates after he steered Sri Lanka to the World Twenty20 title in his final T20 international. The left-hander made 52 not out off 35 balls as Sri Lanka chased down India’s 131 to win by six wickets in Mirpur. Sangakkara, 36, had scored only 19 runs in five previous […]

Australia bag hat-trick of women’s ICC World Twenty20 titles

Two-time defending champions Australia powered to a six-wicket win over old foes England to win their third consecutive title in the women’s World Twenty20 in Dhaka on Sunday. Sarah Coyte grabbed 3-16 in her four overs and Ellyse Perry and Rene Farrell claimed two wickets each to restrict England to a modest 105-8 after Australia […]

Women’s World Twenty20: Australia beat England in final

Australia thrashed England by six wickets to win a third successive Women’s World Twenty20 title. England collapsed from 55-1 to post a modest 105-8 after losing the toss in Mirpur, with Heather Knight’s 29 the highest score as Sarah Coyte took 3-16 and Ellyse Perry 2-13. Captain Meg Lanning’s 44 off 30 balls hurried Australia […]

World Twenty20 2014: India chase historic win against Sri Lanka

India will be chasing a historic treble when they face Sri Lanka in Sunday’s World Twenty20 final in Dhaka. Victory would make them the first team to hold all three world one-day titles. MS Dhoni’s side lifted the 50-over World Cup in 2011 and won the Champions Trophy last year. “It’s not just the self-belief […]

Women’s World Twenty20: England thrash SA to reach final

England thrashed South Africa by nine wickets to reach a second successive Women’s World Twenty20 final. After Anya Shrubsole took two early wickets, England were aided by five run-outs to dismiss South Africa for 101, with only Chloe Tryon (40) and Mignon du Preez (23) in double figures. Sarah Taylor’s unbeaten 44 took England to […]